The North Carolina
Welcome to the North Carolina Visitor Center
From the mountains to the coast and all points in between
To receive our free North Carolina Visitor Center Newsletter by email each month, please email us at
The names and titles of the Lords Proprietors are listed here as they were in 1663, when they were granted Carolina.
Edward Hyde (1609–1674), 1st Earl of Clarendon, began his career in Parliament in 1640 as a critic of King Charles I, but eventually became one of the king’s close advisors and served as Chancellor of the Exchequer. After Charles I was executed, Hyde wrote a history of the Civil War, and eventually joined the future Charles II in exile.
After the Restoration, he became Lord Chancellor of England and was named Earl of Clarendon. His daughter Anne married the king’s brother James, and two of their daughters later became queen (Mary II and Anne). Clarendon County, South Carolina, was named for him.
George Monck (1608–1670) was a general during the English Civil War and gained fame for leading a campaign in Ireland and for defeating the Dutch at sea. Although Monck supported Parliament and Oliver Cromwell, after Cromwell’s death he used the army to force Parliament to dissolve and call for new elections. The new Parliament invited Charles to take the throne, and the newly crowned Charles II named him Duke of Albemarle. Under Charles II, Albemarle served as “master of his majesty’s horse and captain-general of all his forces.”
Albemarle County, North Carolina, and Albemarle Sound were both named for him, and the initial settlement in northeastern North Carolina was also called Albemarle.
William Craven (1608–1697) was an English soldier who fought in Europe during the English Civil War. He supported Charles I financially, and for his service was named a lieutenant-general and the 1st Earl of Craven in 1664. Craven County, North Carolina, bears his name.
PRESTAGE FOODS INVITES
TO OUR FACILITY
TO COMPLETE A JOB APPLICATION
FRIDAY, MARCH 24TH, 2017
8:00AM TO 12:00PM
4470 HWY 20 EAST
ST. PAULS, N.C. 28384
Documentary Film Screening and Book Signings at The Airborne & Special Operations Museum
FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Join Maurice Renaud and Doug Stebleton at the Airborne & Special Operations Museum Foundation for a special documentary film screening and book signings Saturday, March 25, at 11am.
Maurice Renaud, son of Alexandre and Simone Renaud, will sign Sainte-Mere-Eglise: D-Day, June 6, 1944, a book written by his father, and Mother of Normandy, a book about his mother. Following the book signing, at 11:30am, a special showing of the documentary produced by Doug Stebleton, The Heroes of World War II, will be shown in the museum’s main theater. Mr. Renaud will again sign books immediately following the presentation. In addition, a special showing of Mother Of Normandy, also produced by Doug Stebleton, will be shown at 1:30pm in the theater.
On June 5 & 6, 1944, Alexandre Renaud, then mayor of Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France, saw the first paratroopers land in Normandy. In the hours that followed, he witnessed the liberation of his village, house-by-house, street-by-street. Sainte-Mere-Eglise: D-Day, June 6, 1944, first published in 1945 (and a best-seller from 1945-1947) is a remarkable testimony by the author, enriched in its new presentation by many historical photographs never before published.
Mother of Normandy is the true story of a remarkable woman whose devotion to a generation of heroes transcended all boundaries. Madame Simone Renaud witnessed the liberation of France on June 6, 1944 from a very unique point, the small town of St. Mere Eglise, the first town liberated in the D-Day invasion. It was here that she and her husband, the mayor of St. Mere Eglise, watched the triumph and tragedy unfold during a day that defined history. And it was here that so many American soldiers, who gave their lives to protect freedom and democracy, found their final resting place. Madame Renaud spent a lifetime tending to the graves of those American soldiers and corresponding with their loved ones back home. She became friend, family and touchstone to those whose lives were forever changed by D-Day. The mark she left is unforgettable and enduring.
The event is free and open to the public. Both books are available in the museum’s Gift Shop. THE MUSEUM
Located in downtown Fayetteville, the Airborne & Special Operations Museum is part of the U.S. Army Museum System and tells the story of Army airborne and special operations units from 1940 to the present.
Scheduled guided walking tours take visitors into several authentically restored and furnished buildings. Areas of special interest will also be pointed out to visitors. A self-guided tour is also available for those who do not have time for guided tours. For this tour, a map of the site and wayside exhibits provide educational information regarding the buildings and area. These include the 1760 home of a merchant, the house and law office of a 19th-century attorney, and the 1808 home of a wealthy landowner. The 1833 clerk's office, an 1838 Jail, the 1790 Eagle Tavern and 1760 Tap Room, and a unique archaeological exhibit are also featured on the tour.
Fort Bragg Contracting Officials to Meet with Businesses
at Fayetteville Technical Community College
The Mission & Installation Contracting Command (MICC) - Fort Bragg will host an Acquisition Forecast Open House in the Cumberland Hall Auditorium of Fayetteville Technical Community College from 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM on March 29, 2017.
MICC Fort Bragg contracting officers and contract specialists will present and discuss their anticipated procurements and contracts for the remainder of FY2017 (now through SEP 30). Additionally, the District Director for the US Small Business Administration and representatives from the General Services Administration will attend and provide program updates for attending businesses.
"Any business that wants to do work for Fort Bragg (or other bases) should attend this event," said Scott Dorney, Executive Director of the North Carolina Military Business Center (NCMBC). "This acquisition forecast provides a unique opportunity for businesses to speak directly to contracting officials about upcoming procurements, and about the products and services that their businesses can provide to military installations in our state."
Full information and official on-line registration are available on the NCMBC website at http://www.ncmbc.us/micc-fort-bragg-acquisition-forecast-open-house-march-29. For questions or more information, call the NCMBC at 910-678-0190 or 910-678-0049.
|This article is an orphan, as no other articles link to it. Please introduce links to this page from ; try the Find link tool for suggestions. (June 2014)|
Allen Rathel Bunn (September 24, 1923 – August 21, 1977), who was sometimes credited as Alden Bunn and who performed as Tarheel Slim, was an American singer, guitarist and songwriter whose work spanned gospel, blues, doowop, R&B, pop, and rockabilly. After singing in various gospel groups he became a member of The Larks before recording with his wife Anna Lee "Little Ann" Sandford, and then as a solo performer.
Bunn was born in Bailey, North Carolina. He seems to have used both "Alden" and "Allen" as his forename at different times; researchers Bob Eagle and Eric LeBlanc state that his birth records read "Allen". Initially he worked in local tobacco fields, but by the early 1940s he had started singing with various gospel groups, including the Gospel Four and the Selah Jubilee Singers, where he joined the latter group's founder, Thermon Ruth. Bunn was the group's baritone and second lead singer, and provided guitar accompaniment.
In 1949, Ruth and Bunn decided to form a secular singing group as a spin-off from the Selah Jubilee Singers. Initially called the Jubilators, the group recorded for four different record labels in New York under four different names on one day in 1950. Eventually settling on the name The Larks, the group's recording of "Eyesight to the Blind" on the Apollo label, with lead vocals and guitar by Bunn, reached number 5 on the Billboard R&B chart in July 1951; and the follow-up, "Little Side Car", also sung by Bunn, reached number 10 on the R&B chart later the same year. The Larks then toured with Percy Mayfield and Mahalia Jackson. Bunn lived in New York from 1950 for the rest of his life.
Early in 1952, Allen Bunn (so credited) left for a solo career, first recording blues for Apollo, accompanied by Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee, and then moving to Bobby Robinson's Red Robin label in 1953, when he was credited as "Alden Bunn" or "Allen Baum". Around 1955, he married Anna Lee Sandford (1935–2004), and they began singing together, recording as The Lovers for the Lamp label, a subsidiary of Aladdin Records. Their first record together, "Darling It's Wonderful", written by Bunn and arranged by Ray Ellis, reached number 15 on the R&B chart and number 48 on the Billboard pop chart, in 1957. Bunn also managed, and recorded with, a group known variously as the Wheels (on the Premium label) and the Federals (on the De Luxe label).
Bunn returned to solo recording, using the name Tarheel Slim, in New York in 1958, for producer Bobby Robinson's Fury label. His first recordings for Fury, "Wildcat Tamer" / "Number 9 Train", have been described by AllMusic critic Bill Dahl as "a pair of rockabilly raveups", and by another reviewer as "pinnacles of New York rock'n'roll". Both sides of the record featured guitarist Jimmy Spruill as well as Bunn. However, the record was not a success at the time, and Bunn's later recordings for Robinson's Fire and Fury labels, in the late 1950s and early 1960s, were all co-credited to the duo of Tarheel Slim and Little Ann. Their first record for Fire, "It's Too Late" – described as "a doom laden dirge with Slim's tremolo laden guitar work and Ann breaking down into a sobbing fit at the end" – reached number 20 on the R&B chart in 1959; the record was also issued on the Checker label. Later records by Tarheel Slim and Little Ann covered a variety of styles, including rockabilly, but none were commercial successes. The duo recorded briefly for Atco Records in 1963, but then disappeared from view.
Some of North Carolina’s greatest treasures can be found off the beaten path. You never know what you might find... an old-time general store, local artisan, or simply a picturesque view that takes your breath away. You’ll be swept away by the untouched natural landscape found on the backroads of this rural county.
In Anson County, you can discover all that and more. Come. Visit. Surround yourself with the beauty of North Carolina’s best kept secret.
2800 N Elm St
Lumberton, NC 28358
Hands Together is a nonprofit organization devoted to educating, inspiring and encouraging people to understand the importance of responding to the needs of the poor and disadvantaged. Our Mission, as we strive to build a more compassionate and human world, proceeds from the spiritual belief that we are all members of one, equal, interconnected family under a loving God.
ARE YOU ADVERTISING WITH THE NORTH CAROLINA VISITOR CENTER?
To find out more, please email: firstname.lastname@example.org